Academy Members


On March 12, 2014, the Minerva Institute for Research and Scholarship announced the induction of fourteen educational innovators to the Minerva Academy, an honorary institution dedicated to promoting and rewarding extraordinary advancements and innovation in higher education teaching around the world.

Community Icon
“Welcoming these distinguished educators as founding members of the Minerva Academy is a way to honor and recognize their contributions and accomplishments in teaching innovation.”
Roger Kornberg, Ph.D.
Governor, Minerva Academy
Aiman Gazing at SF Skyline

Minerva Academy Members

Academy members are honored for their contributions and innovative thinking in the area of teaching excellence. Their backgrounds range from law to psychology to engineering and include award­ winning authors, researchers and policy leaders.

  • Lloyd Armstrong, Ph.D., Provost Emeritus and University Professor of Education and of Physics, University of Southern California

  • Ken Bain, Ph.D., President, Best Teachers Institute

  • Derek Bok, Ph.D., 300th Anniversary University Research Professor, Professor of Law, and University President Emeritus, Harvard University

  • Cathy Davidson, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor and Director, The Futures Initiative, The Graduate School, City University of New York and Distinguished Visiting Professor of Interdisciplinary Studies, Duke University

  • Al Filreis, Ph.D., Kelly Family Professor of English, Director, Center for Programs in Contemporary Writing, Faculty Director, and Kelly Writers House, University of Pennsylvania

  • Diane Halpern, Ph.D.Dean Emerita, College of Social Sciences, Minerva Schools at KGI

  • Stephen Kosslyn, Ph.D., Founding Dean Emeritus, Minerva Schools at KGI

  • Daniel Levitin, Ph.D.Dean of the College of Social Sciences, Minerva Schools at KGI

  • Eric Mazur, Ph.D., Balkanski Professor of Physics and Applied Physics and Dean of Applied Physics, Harvard University

  • Roger Schank, Ph.D., founder and CEO, Socratic Arts and XTOL

  • Sheri Sheppard, Ph.D., Associate Vice Provost for Graduate Education and Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Stanford University

  • Lee Shulman, Ph.D., Charles E. Ducommun Professor of Education Emeritus, Stanford University; President Emeritus, Carnegie Foundation

  • Jennifer Summit, Ph.D., Dean of Undergraduate Studies, San Francisco State

  • Daniel Willingham, Ph.D., Professor of Psychology, University of Virginia